It’s the time of year when people make resolutions or goals to make themselves and their lives better, but what’s wrong with being happy with the self I’ve grown to be?  I’m tired of seeing quotes and articles saying, “13 Ways to Make 2017 Better,” or “Simplify Your Life and Be Happier,” or “Reach for the Stars by Setting Goals.”  Then there’s the other side of the story: “Be Content with What You Have in Your Life.”  For the past few years, I’ve vacillated between looking for something more and being happy with what I have, so this year, I’m going to trust my gut.

If I get the urge to take the dog for a walk even though I’ve walked her already once or twice, I’m going to do it.  If the book I’m reading is calling to me, I’m going to read it.

I’m going to revive long-ago hobbies: Playing the piano. Sewing. Baking goodies for others.  Volunteering. Cross-country skiing.

I’m going to revisit some routines: Read a devotional every morning and write about it. Write in my gratitude journal every night.

In 2017 (and the last few days of 2016) I’m going to be me.  The me that my gut tells me to be.

