Tags

, ,

After receiving numerous messages thanking me for sharing my last post, I debated over writing more on my struggle with the Catholic Church lately. Tonight a song line popped into my head, “Should I stay or should I go?” I’m not very good with knowing song lyrics, or titles, or artists, so I googled the line. The song, by The Clash, includes a few lines that relate to my teeter-tottering relationship with the Catholic faith.

It’s always tease, tease, tease. I hear words spoken in church such as “…my yoke is light and my burden easy” which reminds me materialism isn’t the path I want to follow. I hear Jesus speaking in parables, as it’s easier to understand abstract concepts when those concepts are shown in everyday life. That method of teaching is taught in undergraduate education courses. It’s how I want the Church to provide guidance through life, with stories that make me think. I read articles about Pope Francis commenting about celibrate priests versus married ones. The Church teases me to stay then…

One day is fine and next is black when I receive a letter from my church with an enclosed pamphlet entitled “Same-Sex Marriage” to read because it explains the Church’s teachings about same-sex marriage and homosexual thoughts and acts. It tells me I can accept people who “struggle” with these types of thoughts, but I should help them through the struggles so they do not sin by indulging in homosexual acts. Will later generations look back at our time and compare it to segregation and Jim Crow laws?

So I’m still attending church and listening for the parables, the gentle guidance, the reminders to live as Jesus would. But…

This indecision’s buggin’ me/ If you don’t want me, set me free
Exactly whom I’m supposed to be/ Don’t you know which clothes even fit me?
Come on and let me know/ Should I stay or should I go?

Thanks to The Clash for the great lines to help me get my thoughts written.

